## PRESS RELEASE



## R.C.



FROM THE R.A.C. PRESS OFFICE, WHItehall 4343 Ext. 106 and 109

5th April, 1956.

(For release at 5.30 p.m. Thursday, 5th April)

## SEGRAVE TROPHY PRESENTED TO MR. DONALD CAMPBELL

Mr. Donald Campbell, holder of the world's water speed record, was to-day presented with the Segrave Trophy for 1955 at the Royal Automobile Club, for upholding "British prestige before the world".

The award was made by the Marquess Camden, Chairman of the Awarding Committee.

In his jet-powered Bluebird, thirty-four year old Mr. Campbell on the 16th November, 1955, broke his own world water speed record by achieving an official average of 216.2 m.p.h. on Lake Mead, Nevada, in two runs over the measured kilometre. His previous record was 202.32 m.p.h. on Ullswater last July.

It is the third time that the Trophy has been awarded to the Campbell family. Mr. Donald Campbell's father, the late Sir Malcolm Campbell, M.B.E., twice received the award, first in 1933 when he broke the world's land speed record at Daytona Beach, U.S.A., and again in 1939 when he set up a new world's water speed record of 141.74 m.p.h. on Lake Coniston.

First awarded in 1930, the Trophy, was instituted to preserve the memory of the late Sir Henry Segrave and is awarded to the British subject who, in the judgment of the Awarding Committee, has accomplished the most outstanding demonstration of the possibilities of transport by land, air or water during the current year.

"The simple idea behind this tribute to Sir Henry Segrave", to quote the original announcement of the institution of the Trophy,

"is to stimulate others also to uphold British prestige before the world by demonstrating how the display of courage, initiative and skill - the spirit of Adventure itself - can assist progress in mechanical development."

The award is made by a Committee, consisting of representatives of the Royal Automobile Club, the Institution of Automobile Engineers, the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, the Royal Aero Club, the Royal Aeronautical Society, the Marine Motoring Association and the Newspaper Proprietors' Association.

The Trophy was first awarded in 1930 to Air Commodore Sir Charles Kingsford-Smith for his transatlantic and England to Australia flights.

Since the war the Trophy has been awarded three times for outstanding achievements in the air. In 1946 it was awarded posthumously to Mr. Geoffrey Raoul de Havilland, O.B.E., for his contribution to high speed flying. Mr. de Havilland was killed in an air crash in September 1946.

The second airman to receive the award since the war was the late Mr. John Derry, D.F.C., who in April 1948 established a world's speed record for aircraft by achieving a speed of 605.230 m.p.h. over a 100 km., closed circuit course.

The last award of the Trophy was also made to an aviator,
Squadron Leader Neville DuRe, for his achievement in 1953 of
breaking the world's absolute speed record at a speed of 727.6 m.p.h.
and also the world's closed circuit speed record at 709.2 m.p.h.

In 1947 the Trophy was presented to Mr. John Rhodes Cobb who in September of that year, established two new land speed records on the Utah Salt Flats, U.S.A., Mr. Cobb averaged 392.8 m.p.h. over a flying kilometre and 394.2 m.p.h. over a mile course.

The only motor-cyclist to have received the Segrave Trophy is Mr. Geoffrey Duke. He was chosen to receive the award in 1951 following a string of successes on racing circuits throughout Europe culminating in him winning the world motor-cycle racing championship in both the 350 and 500 c.c. classes.

No award was made in 1949, 1950, 1952 or 1954.

was Kindy Campbell Bone House Like Za c. 4 day on la Burn on 25 - 1 201 (0)