

At the White City, the A.A.A. Championships brought stern rivalry for those prized National titles.

And thrilling finishes, too, especially in the 880 yards - when the holder, Mike Rawson looked the winner until...

Ireland's Olympic champion, Ronnie Delany unleashed his terrific

Gallantly, Rawson battled on - but speed and stamina won the day...
With a time of one minute forty-nine-point-six seconds - the "Dublin
Flyer" equalled the championship record.

With Derek Ibbotson failing to qualify, the Mile looked a safe bet for No 21. Brian Hewson, the 1955 champion.

Taking over from pacemaker Peter Clark on the final bend, Hewson was never seriously troubled. Though the final challenge of Mike Berrisford (No. 6) showed him a champion in the making.

Another title for four-minute miler - Brian Hewson

A top-class field for the Three Miles and with the last-minute addition No \ of Ibbotson (determined to hit back at his critics), the sparks seemed certain to fly...

But it was Ibbotson who did the flying. Though the track-conditions were all against him (on a day of sunshine and heavy rain), he soon outstripped all the opposition - reeling off the laps in near/record time.

Then, piling on the pace - in the final lap, Ibbotson sprinted home - shattering those mighty Chris Chataway records by two-point-four seconds.

Seconds. Hannakarpenkagreninikingsnirannkerninihkatenni

"A determined young man" - record-breaker Derek Ibbotson.