## PRESS RELEASE



## R.A.C. NEWS



FROM THE RAC PRESS OFFICE . WHItehall 4343 Ext 106, 107 & 109

Over 60 Years of Service to The Motorist and The Nation

14th October, 1959

## SEGRAVE TROPHY FOR DONALD CAMPBELL EARL HOWE MAKES PRESENTATION

The Segrave Trophy for 1958 was presented to World Water Speed Record-holder, Donald Campbell, by Earl Howe, Chairman of the R.A.C. Competitions Committee, at the Royal Automobile Club tonight. The feat which earned this recognition was raising his own Water Speed Record to 248.62 m.p.h. at Coniston Water on November 10th, 1958.

The trophy is awarded by a committee representing the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, The Royal Automobile Club, The Royal Aero Club, the Royal Aeronautical Society, the Marine Motoring Association and the Newspaper Proprietors' Association, and is presented annually to the British subject accomplishing the most outstanding demonstration of the possibilities of transport by land, air or water.

In announcing the award to Donald Campbell, the committee said that he "had displayed courage, initiative and skill which has worthily upheld British prestige before the world". It is the second time he has received the award, the first being in 1955. This completes a unique father—and—son double as Sir Malcolm Campbell was awarded the trophy in 1933 and again in 1939.

Post-war holders of the Segrave Trophy have been:

1957 1956 1955 1954 1953	Stirling Moss Peter Twiss Donald Campbell Not awarded Neville Duke	1951 1950 1949 1948 1947	Geoffrey Duke Not awarded Not awarded John Derry John Cobb
1952	Not awarded	1946	Geoffrey Raoul de Havilland