2750150

PATHE GAZETTE: 40/52. (DUBLIN)

INDIANAPOLIS CAR RACE

22 devil drivers hit the flag as they blast across the line to start the 28th annual Indianapolis Speed Derby. 500 blue blasing miles lay shead with thousands of dollars up for lap prises. So they elamp their feet down on the throttles and pile it on right from the start. Driver car No.33 Rex Mays of Glendale, Galifornia, gives it the gun and keeps right on the tail of Wilbur Shaw, last year's winner, who is out there setting a skyrocket pace. 145,000 speed fans are disappointed when a drissling rain glases the bricks and the pace is slowed down. There's Shaw in No.1. trying to lap Bob Swanson in 32.

Last year's winner is out in front of Nays by about 2 miles, with the last lap coming up. The Indianapolis horse-power marathon with 25,000 dollars in prises again goes to the man who won in 1937 and 39, Wilbur Shaw and the victor takes his place as the biggest money winner in the history of automobile racing.